Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

818tMZ3aozL._SL1500_.jpgTitle: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

Genre: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Chic Lit, Realistic Fiction, Drama

Rating: 4 and half

Me Before You is the best-selling novel written by Jojo Moyes. Many were captivated by this heart warming and tear-jerking story of Louisa and Will that it got a film adaptation.

Louisa works in Buttered Bun tea shop but when Frank, Louisa’s employer, said that he will close the shop and was about to lose her job, she doesn’t know what to do. Added more to the thoughts on her mind is Lou’s relationship with her boyfriend Patrick.

Will was a man who lives in a life that is almost close to perfection-wealthy life, a job he wanted and a girlfriend. One accident changed his whole life that took away his desire to live.

When I heard that this novel will  get a film adaptation, I put in my mind that I should see the book first before the movie. I actually learned my lesson after watching The Paper Towns before the book. I just don’t want to get disappointed that it will not exceed my expectations and let the whole film go into my mind before my imagination. I don’t hate movies, sometimes I just want how my imaginations works when I am reading a book.

I am a sucker for tear-jerking stories so I gave it a shot and read this novel. This is not actually my usually cup of tea because I hated that the thought of the thin line between pity and love. I just hated that excuse which sometimes became the reason for the conflict of the two protagonists in a story.

The thing is that, there some pull in this story where you could fell in love with the characters-their pain, their laughters, their thoughts and actions. Lou and Will’s  character is not that hard to be loved.

I must say that this is one of my favorites because I felt a connection to it, not that I experienced this kind of hardship but you can feel the emotions in it just by reading it. As any reader and critic, I too has a lot of say about the story of Lou and Will. I do got curious why does Jojo Moyes  did it liked that but I am only a reader that’s why all I have to do is to find what’s the real message about it because it’s a sensitive topic. Others might thing it’s inspiring but others may not. Each and every one is entitled to have our own opinion and thoughts about this topic because we have different level of understanding in a way where it will lead us. This is one of the most intriguing and sensitive theme novel that I am sure that others find it hard too to accept the ending of it-a mix of love, pain and acceptance.

Detailed Review:

  • Does the Title intrigue me or interests me

Not much. I don’t say that it not that good but it’s not quite that appealing. I don’t judge a novel by its title, it’s an added points for me like it’s more interesting to read if the title was a little bit striking and intriguing.

  • Did I agree on some point of views on it?

Some and some were not. I know! I always wonder why, why and why? At the end of the book, my mind was lost of the whole thought. Is it not worth it? That’s what i always asked to myself.

  • Author’s style used in the book.

The point of view is of Louisa that it made me hard to feel what Will’s true actions mean. I am actually looking forward for more about Will but I didn’t get as much as I wanted to be.

  • If the language or style used is convincing to define the character.

Somewhat. It do define Lou and Will as what it should be. Like you can see in your mind that Will is a man who loves adventure and not a life that’s not what he was used to… and other things about Louisa and Will that made an impression to me but as what I said some thoughts of Will were not that visible with a single sided point of view.

  • If the characters were represented as what the story suggest.

Yes. They are what they suggested. Lou, Will, Will’s parents and other more characters in the novel. I just kind of don’t understand Will’s sister that much.

  • If the ideas and concepts are clear.

I don’t know about this part since it’s a sensitive topic. It’s up to the readers if they will see it as a positive one or not… For me, it’s really up to us if we find the ideas clear and I do have my opinion about it that some thoughts were clear but maybe I need a  little more closure about Will’s point of view.

  • Physical appearance of the book. (Cover, binding, layout format etc.)

There are different versions of it. (The red one and the picture above) I don’t know, its simplicity is good but not that quite appealing maybe that’s why the cover was changed. I don’t judge the book but it an added point too if we are talking about total package.

  • If it successful in its goal or purpose of the story. (If it made me cry, laugh, inspired or the emotion that one should feel on the book )

Tear-jerker novel! Yes, it made me cry but not that much, there’s not much enough scenes where they have pour much emotions about them. They do lack emotion and moments, that’s what I think. I actually questioned myself if I should cry or feel good about the epilogue that it stops my tears from falling. About the goal? It’s not actually clear, if it means giving up or acceptance but I picked acceptance will be the most appropriate for it.

I did read a lot of reviews about this book and others find it great and others do not. It’s really up to the reader if he/she will view it in a way she liked it or the way the book was. For me, I liked this book a lot and if a book gave me a connection, it’s successful to me. Somewhat I really do find it hard to chew the ending but over all this is a must read novel.

yell sig

Leave a Reply

