Book Review: Shatter Me Series

Shatter Me (Series Recap)

 

 

Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi

 

Series:

Shatter Me

Unravel Me

Ignite Me

 

Mini Books:

Fracture Me

Destroy Me

 

Shatter Me is a young adult dystopian thriller written by Tahereh Mafi, published on November 15, 2011.The book is narrated by Juliette, a 17-year-old girl with a lethal touch and is unique in that it contains passages and lines that have been crossed out.The second book in the series, Unravel Me, was published on February 5, 2013. The third book in the series, Ignite Me, was published on February 4, 2014.

Film rights for Shatter Me were optioned by 20th Century Fox in 2011, prior to the book’s release date.Of her inspirations for the work, Mafi has stated that she drew inspiration from “an interest in human nature and [humanity’s] ability to overcome great obstacles”. – Wikipedea

 

MY VERDICT:

 

Shatter Me

The first chapter caught my attention and I liked it. I liked how the thoughts of Juliette are expressed. The fear, the love, the hatred and her agony can be easily felt. I liked the characters too, they possess different traits and personality.

 

RATING for Shatter Me:

5 stars

5/5 stars

 

Unravel Me

The story of Juliette continuous and I liked how the flow of the story has gone wide. The use of different setting and a number of more characters. I really thought that it was just a simple reestablishment-change-the-world but it’s not.  What more is that, I cannot predict what will happen next, which is a good thing, because everything in this story is so unpredictable? I love the twists and how shocking the revelations could be.

RATING for Unravel Me :

5 stars

5/5 stars

 

Ignite Me

The last book of the series of the Shatter Me. I couldn’t say that I liked a lot but somewhat it lacks a little bit of more information. I felt like, “Is that all? Huh. Bang! And it ends like that.” I liked the flow of the story and all of it. I liked the expression of Warner and the other characters. I liked how well they did everything… It just lack on the other part of how facts in the story should be made but all in all, I liked it.

RATING for Ignite Me:

4 stars

4/5 stars

 

Favorite Quote/Lines:

 

Shatter Me

“Rain drops are my only reminder that clouds have a heartbeat… That I have one too.”

“I want to be the bird that flies away.”

“This planet is a broken bone that didn’t set right, a hundred pieces of crystal that glued together.”

“Things are changing, but this time I’m not afraid. This time I know who I am.”

 

Unravel Me

“The truth is painful reminder of why I prefer to live among lies.”-Warner

“I am beginning to think of hope as a dangerous, terrifying thing.”

 

Ignite Me

I am no longer afraid of fear, and I will not let it rule me. Fear will learn to fear me.”

“Words, I think, are such unpredictable creatures. No gun, no sword, no army or king will ever be more powerful than a sentence.”

 

Destroy Me

“Torture is not torture when there’s any hope of relief”

“Love is a heartless bastard. I am driving myself insane.”

 

Fracture Me

“Sometimes I think the harder I try to hold on, the more she tries to break away.”

s.JPG

(c) @yellatrandom

 

May contain SPOILERS so read at your own risk.

Sometimes I do forgot to breathe and find myself gasping for air because I am too much hooked and attached to the whole story. Sadness, agony and hopelessness… I don’t know but you can feel every pain like it’s piercing you to the bone. Juliette, Adam and Warner… Three different people but you’ll know that there’s a reason for everything they did.

I actually pictured it like X-men and mutants because of the powers and the gifts. It is also amazing that it’s not just a teeny weeny love story that a girl fell for a boy and the boy liked her then the end. It is not a usual cup of coffee but this story is so intriguing. Intriguing to the point that I finished the first book for a day and craving for more.

So at first I really find it weird that I don’t like Adam much but as the flow of story continuous, I found out why. I liked Warner a lot because he’s sweet and selfish- selfish only for his love. I do understand the two of them after reading the two mini books of it- FRACTURE ME and DESTROY ME. Reading the two books let me know what they truly feel and what they really stand for.

 

I am also not a fan of side characters but this book changed it! Oh! Kenji? Who will not wish for him to come true and be here in the real world? I really liked his character a lot.

The whole Shatter Me Series is a wrap but I was quite disappointed with the ending. Commander is dead then end of story? Don’t they have underlings? Like ex-commander and etc.? That made me wonder if they truly succeed. But all in all, I liked this Series.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

