Review: She Who Stole Cupid’s Arrow by Alylooney

B7DRaepCcAAZgvf

Title: She Who Stole Cupid’s Arrow

Writer: Alyloony

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Fiction

Status: Completed

A different kind of fantasy story. Fond of Greek God and Goddesses? Having a one sided love.. To the point that one will stole Cupid’s arrow? That is Jillian’ story. I will not spoil you anymore. You’ll definitely love this story. You should check this out and add to your reading list.

 

Warning: The following review may contain spoilers.

Funny. Dramatic. Romantic. Inspirational

These are the words that comes into my mind after reading and waiting for the update of this story. This is one of my favorite fantasy story that have a good plots, unexpected characters and other more stuffs that will make you hooked after reading the updates that will make you want for more.

At first I thought that it would be another cliché story of using a genre with Greek Goddesses and  the stuff about Luke but I was wrong. As I waited patiently (Not so patient Laughs Like I was like this: “Wah? Is that all? Bitin, kinikilig na ako eh!”) for the updates the story gets more and more interesting.

One broken girl named “Jillian” who is so desperate to make the person she love to love her?

A cliché problem in most of the stories, right?

But the thing is the story revolves with the genre “Fantasy” that makes the story more exciting.

How will Jillian made this thing happen?

Buy beautiful dress and a make over? For Jillian, she stole Cupid’s Arrow to make it possible but things didn’t went right that it made the situation more complicated and led Jillian into a place where she needs to make things right by being the living arrow of Cupid.

This story made me cry, laugh and feel the magic of love. Another work of Alyloony that made the Philippine Literature to be proud of. I’ am actually a fan of Foreign Authors (J. Green, J. Picoult, R. Rowell and etc.) and I read a lot of works from them. The thing is that we should read stories from our local authors because their works are truly amazing

.

What I like from the story:

 

~ The Characters 

Jillian- The thought that comes into my mind for her character is the number one nature people that we tend to make things that are unexpected. She got the craziest idea of stealing Cupid’s arrow to solve his heart broken problem that she got from Luke.  As I read Jillian’s POVs, I don’t know but sometimes you could feel the pain that she is having… Like when she was being an arrow to connect the fate of Luke and Elise. Like it is so martyr for her to be a matchmaker for the one she love where she have to match him with other person who is not her? One more is when Cupid said that it was not her that is matched for West… How many times did her heart got broken? Still…. She stands up and in the end even though she didn’t remember anything , it proves that when you truly like one thing.. It may not be an easy ride but in the end.. All the pain and hardships are worth it.

Cupid-  I actually hated him at first because I thought that he really planned to make Jillian’s life miserable but after the truths and revelations unfold.. I understand him because he had reasons for it.  What more amazing about him is the love for his wife Psyche. On the last part, I was truly driven to him when he save his wife and felt so sorry for not protecting his wife completely that Psyche got a small cut on her cheek. He really represents love, ugh how romantic he is!

Ayesha- For Ayesha? The selfishness that people have when it comes to the thing we wanted. She is so selfish that she hold a grudge for being not with Zyron. She fought for the wrong reason that made her in the sad ending in the end.

West- I always had a vision of him being a boy next door type? Don’t know if it is the same vision for you.. laughs  But the personality that he has was actually popular to the girls that made him so adorable especially when his ear turns into red. #TeamKanluran In serious part, I was actually like “WTH” after the reading the update when he blocked Jillian and died. Like, “Wah? WEEEEEST?” and I’ am literally crying for all the drama this story have but I’am really happy for him and Jillian at the ending that they are truly destined for each other.

Zyron- My next crush next to West. Arrogant and cool type person? Hmm. The brother vs. brother battle for Jillian is to much but when I found out that Zyron had business with Ayesha that he made things to make Jillian fall in love with him? Everyone has a reason why they do such things and I do understand him. It really and totally broke my heart when he sacrificed himself to bring back West. He was a really good brother and I do miss him!

Edgar- Laughs Laughssohard Laughswithacough* I can’t get over with Edgar… not that it sound chessy but he was so funny! Edgar thought me how life is so unfair! Hahahahaha but he also thought me that everyone of us deserves to be happy. So we do still have a hope! Si Edgar na nagkalovelife, eh ikaw pa kaya? Haha

Some characters are not mentioned


~ The Truths and Revelations

There is so much of surprises and revelations like the time when it was said that Jillian is a Goddess, Zyron’s Confession and other more stuffs.


~ Unexpected Plots

When I actually thought that Cupid was the bad guy but it turned out that I was wrong. The last chapters truly turned the events upside down in a good way.


~ The “TIME OUT DRAMA”

Edgar. Edgar. I laughed so many times whenever he was on the update. Laughs

Will he get his own story too? Haha


~ There is a lesson you could get in the story.

In life, the ride is not always gonna be an easy ride. Such things may happen.. but always remember that things will get get better, maybe not today but soon.


~ The Fantasy

Like the arrow, the pendant and the Greek Mythology.


FAVORITE PART IN THE STORY

*When Jillian was so drunk that she teleport to West’s condo. I don’t know but that scene is one of my favorite, the resisting of West and the craziness that Jillian have when she is drunk.

yell sig

Leave a Reply

